Foods with Moods – How Are You Peeling? by Saxton Freymann

I am the mother of 2 boys, ages 4 and 1.  My youngest son Rocco loves vegetables.

Rocco is still learning how to talk but he can say brocolli!

My oldest son Massimo will not touch any kind of vegetable unless I camouflage it.

Massimo just said, "I will not eat the vegetables Papa!"

To get Massimo comfortable with vegetables I introduced him to the books of artist Saxton Freymann.  In 1997 Mr. Freymann started to “play” with vegetables and fruits and he humanized them.  Often, the stranger and more imperfect the vegetable or fruit, the better.  He would transform them into unique masterpieces!

I heard that after creating his food art Mr. Freymann would turn his creations into a meal for himself!

Massimo and Rocco love the fruit and vegetable books.  Unfortunately, Massimo still does not eat vegetables freely.

I mentioned in an earlier blog that my husband loves to garden.  We found this cucumber growing in my husband Michael’s garden.  It was a little funny looking and we thought it would make a good canvas for a humanized vegetable.

The deformed cucumber.

I wanted to surprise my boys with my cucumber creation, but before I was able to make art appear out of a vegetable, Rocco took a bite of my masterpiece!  I never got a chance to use Saxton Freymann’s techniques on this worthy cucumber.

I decided to still give it a try, and a little Photoshop magic transformed a normal cucumber in to something special!

Quack quack said the duck!

It is amazing how something as mundane as fruits and vegetables can be transformed into art.  It’s awesome how sometimes what is considered the “rejects” and “imperfect” can become something interesting, beautiful and extraordinary.  I think that’s like life…it’s all about your perspective!
I hope you have an artistically happy day!
One response to “Foods with Moods – How Are You Peeling? by Saxton Freymann

  1. Pingback: The Vegetable Orchestra is Inspiring and Makes Happiness | I Choose Happy Now

Leave a Reply

