Rocco’s First Day of Play School and Massimo’s (Age 4) Realization About Aging

Rocco is the youngest one in our family and he officially is not going to be a baby anymore since he turns 2 years old soon.

He is a very happy, spirited and energetic kid.  Right now I see him as a wild stallion needing some “breaking” and a little discipline.

Rocco is the kid who won't stay still!

roccodriving

This week was Rocco’s first day of play school.  It is a weekly class where little toddlers learn what it is like to be in “big kid school”.  They do crafts, have snacks together, listen to stories, play and then clean up.

2011-10-5lopez6  2011-10-5lopez8

2011-10-5lopez52011-10-5lopez13

I am so happy that Rocco is taking this first step of being tamed, but a part of me feels pulled because my baby is growing up so quickly!

Since Rocco has an older brother to look up to and learn from, he has pushed himself to keep up.   He walked, talked and matured so early.  Sometimes I wish he understood that there is no rush and just to enjoy being the baby for now.

Massimo and Rocco show their Taekwondo moves with Master Lee and Papa.

Massimo finally gets it.  Yesterday he woke up in the middle of the night and he said, “Mommy, I don’t want to get too big.”

massimosuperhero

My answer was, “You are wonderful at this age and you will be wonderful when you get bigger.  Every age is great because you have a good heart and I love you.”

I don’t know if my words helped him, but they helped me and he went back to sleep soundly.

I hope you have a wonderful day full of happiness!

2 responses to “Rocco’s First Day of Play School and Massimo’s (Age 4) Realization About Aging

  1. Remember — when you want to say (or think) “I feel sad” instead say (or think) “I feel proud.”

    • I know what you mean! I loved your post yesterday. I am going to refer it through this one because it is another side of growing up.

      As usual Lisha it is great hearing from you!

      Cheers,
      Louise

Leave a Reply

