Halloween Is Around the Corner and Making My Own Costume "Do It Yourself" Style!

When you have kids Halloween is a big deal.  It is the one time of year they can knock on every door and ask for treats.

Halloween is the “hall pass” day where our kids are allowed to eat as much candy as they want.  They look forward to this day because I am usually a stickler about not eating too many sweets.

We have picked our pumpkins from the farm and carved the “ghoulish” faces.

pumpkin7

pumpkinpumpkin5

Today I am going to share with you my “do it yourself” Halloween costume.  I am not much of a crafty sewer, but I decided to give it a swing and modify a vintage 1960s psychedelic moo moo robe.  My goal was to make it look more of a hip 1960s dress.

halloween

I did the following: (For this project I used a sewing machine that I have not touched in over 2 years.)

1.  I cut the dress to make it into a mini dress.

2.  With the fabric that I cut from the hem.  I folded it into half and then cut it into 2 seperate pieces.

3.  I sewed the hems of each of those separate pieces to give it a finished empty pillow case look.

4.  I sewed each of the empty pillow cases on the the under arm of each sleeve.

5.  I stitched the hem of the dress.

At the end of my quick project (30 minutes) I got a Japanese Kimono looking 1960s inspired outfit!

craftcraft2craft3craft4

I am so excited about Halloween!  I don’t know who wants to go out more, me or my kids!  The count down for Halloween begins!  I can’t wait to wear my new groovy, foxy outfit!

I hope you have a wonderful and creative day!

Leave a Reply

