November 2–All Souls Day, November 3–The Day I Met My Soul Mate

November 2 was “All Souls Day”.  It is also known as the “Day of the Dead”.  For many Catholics, like myself, this is a very important day. 

During “All Souls Day” you remember and pay homage to love ones who have gone to heaven.

I remember as a kid visiting my grandparent’s marble gated mausoleum.  We would bring flower arrangements and candles.  

Philippines 023

It was not unusual for us to spend hours at the cemetery praying, eating a meal of lechon (spit roasted pig), reminiscing and remembering our loved ones. 

Philippines 022

This may sound strange and a little morbid to some, but a family ritual would be to knock on my grandparent’s graves and just say hello and give them updates of our lives.  We would also ask them for a special wish that we would keep as a secret.

Ten years ago, on November 2, 2001, All Souls Day, I was single and living in New York City’s Murray Hill neighborhood.   Since I was not in the Philippines, going to the family cemetery was not an option.   My prayers were made at my local church that day.

On November 3, 2001 I met my husband Michael.  My prayer (wish) from “All Souls Day” was answered.  I met my soul mate. 

Ten years ago today I met my husband Michael.  We have not looked back since.2001, New York City, Filter 14 –  Meat Packing District 

Here we are today….

halloween2

I hope you have a wonderful day!  May you find your soul mate too (if you haven’t found them yet!)

6 responses to “November 2–All Souls Day, November 3–The Day I Met My Soul Mate

  1. Michael looks like James Franco.

    • ha ha. Which picture? The one for Halloween? Everyone said he looked like he was not wearing a costume, but he could be a gangsta! Did you notice Dad’s jacket?

  2. Beautiful love story. Makes everyone hope that love and fairy tales can happen..even with a twist and a surprise. Nov. 3 is the “The” day that brought you both happiness, love and two little angels……love it! Best wishes to you and your family.

    • I believe that love and fairy tales can happen! From your blog it is obvious you found your soulmate and you have your Angel.

      Thank you for visiting!

      Cheers,
      Louise

  3. A lovely story of how you met. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

