Mom and Dad Get a New Job–Referee Due to Sibling Rivalry

Let the games begin!  Michael and I are not only Mom and Dad (Papa to the kids), but in recent weeks we have earned new titles, referees.

My kids are only 2 and 5 years old, but they are already fighting and defining their territory and space. 

Whether it is for food, a certain television channel, a chair and so on, they have decided they want what the other has.  Each of the boys are determined to be the one who gets their way. 

They also fight over who sits on my lap.  My answer is always, “God made me with 2 legs, one for each of you.”  This usually calms them down and each of the kids gets a designated leg, luckily they are not picky about who gets which one!

twolegs

They also fight over who gets to be carried on my husband’s shoulders. The solution was for Michael to workout a little more and carry them both simultaneously.

michaelkids

mikeboys

Sibling rivalry is a natural developmental stage and it was inevitable for us to experience it.   We knew that one day it would come knocking at our door, but we did not expect it to arrive this soon.

One minute Massimo and Rocco are the best of buddies and in an instance they can suddenly turn on each other.  We try to tell them that we love both of them equally and we are not picking sides.

I still remember my fights with my older sister.    Some of them would end with heavy tears and hair pulled from the roots!  We would fight over clothes, being in the front seat of the car (there were no car seat rules when we were kids), who got the larger piece of cake and so on.  We were each other’s worst rivals, yet closest companion and friend. 

familypix

Some siblings never get over the rivalry and they bring it from childhood, to adulthood, till death.  Luckily, my sister is my closest confidante and I am glad we have outgrown the sibling rivalry.  I am hoping it will be the same for my boys.

angeandme2

I see the love that Massimo and Rocco have for each other.   When they are not fighting they are playing, hanging out and enjoying each other’s company.

eggchair I know that this sibling rivalry stage will eventually end.  Like most parents in a similar situation, my husband and I just have to be loving and patient referees.  I am hoping that the boys will eventually be the best of friends, like my sister and I are now. 

brothers

For the time being I might just follow my Dad’s footsteps and get them boxing gloves.  I have faith that Massimo and Rocco will figure things out for themselves!

I hope you have a happy day today!

9 responses to “Mom and Dad Get a New Job–Referee Due to Sibling Rivalry

  1. Lisha Perry Fink via Facebook

    When you have three kids, you have to go to a zone defense. 🙂

  2. ha ha ha. I know I sound like a wimp with only 2 kids. I remember when one kid seemed to be a challenge! Have a great weekend!

  3. My siblings and I had some pretty memorable arguments, but we spent most of our time in love.

    Now that we’re adults, our relationships are pretty solid. I read about other peoples’ experiences with my siblings and remember both the good and the bad as I reflect just how very lucky I feel to have siblings. ♥

    • Hi Deb! I know we are lucky to have siblings. I tell my kids that they are each others bestfriend. I am hoping this will stick. Most of the time they are also inlove, but they do have their daily battles. I am sure this will bond them even more!

      Thank you for visiting.

      Cheers,
      Louise

  4. I still remember when we were kids and we to sit in the front of the car. You got in first then slammed the door on my hand!

  5. My kids are 8 and 2 and some days they get along and other days not so much. My sister and I were the same way. I hope your boys will one day stop the fighting and get along for good.

    • Hi Jessica,

      I see that they love each other because 95% of the time they are enjoying each others company. It’s the 5% of the time where they butt heads. I have faith they will figure things out.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Cheers,
      Louise

Leave a Reply

