Is Swearing in a Foreign Language Still Considered a Swear?

Momster-Lopez

Swearword [?sw???w??d] n

(Linguistics) a socially taboo word or phrase of a profane, obscene, or insulting character

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

I really try to stay away from cursing and swearing.  Bad words are something that I do not want to pass on to my kids.

I am only human and sometimes the dreaded “sh*t” may come out of my mouth.

If I am fast enough I try to substitute the bad word with “shoot” or a Filipino replacement since I am Philippine American and can speak both English and Tagalog (Philippines’ national language).

In my native tongue the swear word that accidentally slips from my lips translates in English to “your mother is a person who sells herself”.  I have to admit that when the phrase comes out unintentionally I rationalize that I am technically insulting myself so it’s okay, right?  (I know I am wrong…)

Sometimes I wonder if cursing in a foreign language count as swearing  in the presence of my kids?  If my kids do not understand what I am saying am I doing the wrong thing?

Ok, I know swearing in all languages is bad, but sometimes I have to admit it feels so good….(like when you stub your toe, miss a cab, drop something, etc.)

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

