Massimo’s Favorite Gift from Santa Was a Yoyo and Gifts You Give Young Kids

image

I mentioned a few days ago how we took a vintage train to the North Pole. 

When we were on the train we were entertained by our own personal elf named Manny Mistletoe.  One of the questions Manny asked all the kids before Santa came on board was , “What was your favorite gift that Santa gave you?”

I was so shocked when most of the kids who were in the ages 4-7 year old range yelled that they received an Apple ITouch and IPad.

A huge sense of relief and smile in my heart came over me when my 5 year old son Massimo excitedly and proudly said, “I got a Yoyo!”   His joy over such a cheap an simple gift really stood out.

image

Growing up I was reared in a home with a lot of excess and I sometimes acted out if I did not get what I wanted.  (I mention it in a past post where I had a melt down in a popular toy store.)  I was happy, but looking back on it as an adult I really feel that I did not need all that stuff.  

Now that Michael and I have our own kids we are determined to bring them up having things, but in a more Spartan way so that they are able to enjoy the items they do receive.

If I got Massimo an Ipad this year what would he want next year?  A laptop or a flat screen television?  Like most kids his age he only plays with something for a while until he moves on.  Also, often his favorite “toys” are the ones he creates.

My kids are still young so I can guide and control what they want at this stage of their life.  Eventually they too will want the electronic gadgets and gizmos, but I really am hoping I will be spared till their teenage years.

I know that I will keep the quote below handy when my kids start asking me for stuff and I do not deliver!

ichoosehappynow5

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

