Celebrating New Years Three Times in 2012 and Welcoming the Year of the Dragon

New Years is tomorrow.  I have stopped writing resolutions because I usually break them immediately.  It’s all semantics, but instead I write my goals for the year.

I keep my goals to myself because I almost feel like they are wishes.  I think of them the same way I do a wish upon a star.  You aren’t suppose to share a star’s wish because it is suppose to not come true if you do.  I don’t want to jinx my goals from happening so I keep them private. 

As the title of the post indicates, I celebrate New Years three times.  The first new year I celebrate personally is when the Philippines enters the new year.  Twelve hours later we in the East Coast officially kick of 2012.   

dscf7147

Annual New Year’s Party at Skappo, New Haven, CT

Even if I am not Chinese, I will celebrate the Chinese new year on January 23, 2012.  I grew up in the Philippines and it was customary and a great reason for another celebration to kick of the Chinese new year.

Out of the 3 new year celebrations I am really looking forward to the Chinese New Year.  January 23, 2012 is a Monday so Michael will have a day off from the restaurant.  If we can arrange it the right way we will be able to find someone to watch the kids and have a proper celebration.

I am also looking forward to the 2012 Chinese new year because it is the Year of the Dragon.  I am not too superstitious, but it is hard not to get excited about a year that is suppose to bring happiness and great wealth.  The year of the Dragon is seen as the most auspicious and luckiest of signs.

dragonmom

2011 was the Year of the Rabbit.  The Rabbit year is known for bringing a little mischief and turmoil in your life.   2011 had it’s highest highs for our family, but it also had a few major bumps along the road. 

When we welcome the Year of the Dragon on January 23, 2012 I will say a happy goodbye to the furry two eared rodent who brought a little confusion into our life!

Which ever new year date and time you celebrate, Happy New Year to you!  May you have much joy and prosperity in 2012!

6 responses to “Celebrating New Years Three Times in 2012 and Welcoming the Year of the Dragon

  1. I love your drawing of the mom/baby and dragon wrapped around them. The dragon looks like a love! Happy New Year, Happy New Year, Happy New Year!

  2. Happy New Year! Great party that sure will bring good tidings for 2012. Wishing you an amazing year ahead!

  3. congrats on your self-hosting!

    happy new year…3 times… 🙂

Leave a Reply

