New Year is Also the Time To Remember Those Who Have Left Us and a Prayer to Sick Dads

My husband and I love watching CBS Sunday with Charles Osgood.  The episode on Sunday, January 1, 2012 spoke about the song “Auld Lang Syne” (Should Old Acquaintance Be Forgot”), and how we associate it with the new year.

 

When a new year rings I think of relatives and friends who are no longer with us.  I think of my father who died of cancer almost 4 years ago.  Death ended his suffering from cancer and he was at peace about his fate of dying.  We as a family bonded before his passing and we were happy that he had such a peaceful death.

When 2012 arrived I gave a toast to my father and thought of the song “Auld Lang Syne”.  I also brought out a prayer that my friend Pria, from the Purpose Driven Chef, wrote for my Dad when he just found out about his cancer diagnosis.   Over a delicious dinner Pria not only filled our stomachs, but she fed our soul.

To kick of 2012 I thought I would share the prayer with you.

Dear Heavenly Father,

I thank you for our time with family. I surrender my Father up to you.

Please fill his heart with your holy spirit and allow him to feel your love, compassion, and forgiveness.

Please speak to his heart as we glorify your name. Give him the strength to overcome all the trials and fill him with peace knowing that you are a great father and have forgiven him for all his sins.

Give our family the strength to persevere and come out victorious throughout all these trials we are facing.

Please fill his heart with the truth that we love him and he has been a terrific father. Speak to his heart and make him realize that you Lord Jesus love him, died for him so that my Father may rest in eternal life with him.

Holy Spirit, please touch his heart and allow him to let go of any unconfessed sins, anxieties, and burdens that fill his heart. Allow him to realize that he can rest solely in you.

No judgment shall be passed and that you love him Jesus and that you have died for him. Soften his heart and allow your power to penetrate the core of his soul so that he may lift up all his heavy burdens to you. Once again, I surrender my father dear Jesus. Please take complete control of his life. Shield him from the evil one and allow him to find peace in your arms. All this we ask in your precious name Lord Jesus Amen.

As you have said, Ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find, knock and the door shall be opened.

In Jesus name, Amen.

Dad, I miss you!  I am sure you are watching us in heaven and enjoying 2012!

dadstelena3

4 responses to “New Year is Also the Time To Remember Those Who Have Left Us and a Prayer to Sick Dads

  1. purposedrivenchef

    Oh Lou! Thank you for sharing this with me. I know he is with Jesus, happy and smiling down upon us. 🙂 My love to you and your family. Love you my dear dear friend.

  2. wonderful post. we love charles osgood’s show too

Leave a Reply

