My Cousin Frannie's Awesome Osso Bucco Ox Tail Stew Recipe

When I was a swinging single living in Manhattan’s Murray Hill neighborhood, my cousin Frannie visited me.

She thought it was funny that I only had one cooking pot and my fridge only had beverages of the adult kind.  When you are single and living in New York City eating out tends to be the main activity so fridges typically remain sparse.

During her visit  Frannie made me the most delicious Osso Bucco recipe.  Her version is made out of ox tails instead of the traditional veal shanks.  I have made it so many times and recreated it into my own recipe. 

Below I am sharing my version.  Please remember that if you like things a little more salty just add more salt, do you want it spicy?  Add hot sauce. This recipe is a perfect guide to expand on and make it your own, the way I made cousin Frannie’s recipe my own.

Every time I make the Osso Bucco I always think of my cousin Frannie.  I think of the fun times we had growing up.  This recipe always makes me and my guys happy!

It is best served with rice, noodles or crusty Italian bread.

Buon Appetito, Sarap ng Buhay!

Ingredients:

3 lbs of ox tail

1 can of tomato paste

1 large can of tomato sauce

5 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 cup of chopped celery

1/2 carrots

1 medium size onion finely chopped

1 cup of water

1-1/2 teaspoons of kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon of pepper

1/2 teaspoon of olive oil

1 cup of red wine

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning

1 beef buillon cube

What to do:

1.  In a large soup pot brown oxtails with the celery, onion, carrots, garlic and olive oil.  Your stove must be on medium high heat.

2.  Browning takes about 10 minutes.  Once all the oxtails are brown add all the other ingredients into the pot .

Before picture of Osso Bucco.  Everything in one pot.

3.  Cover the pot and reduce the heat to medium heat for about 1-1/2 to 2 hours.  Stir occassionally to make sure that the ingredients are not sticking and burning on the bottom of the pot.

4.  Depending on the size of the oxtail pieces cooking maybe longer or short.  You have to keep an eye and put a fork to the meat ever so often.  If it is tender and falls off the bone than it is ready.

5.  If the oxtail stew over reduces just add more  water and then let it thicken once again.

This is how we serve the osso bucco at home, with Michael’s homemade “pillowy” gnocchi (I’ll try my hardest to get the recipe from him, but he is so secretive!). 

Osso bucco with homemade gnocchi

I hope you enjoy this dish as much as we do in our household!

Buon Appetito, Sarap ng Buhay!

4 responses to “My Cousin Frannie's Awesome Osso Bucco Ox Tail Stew Recipe

  1. mmmmm!!! looks delish!!!

  2. Wow! This looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

