Happiness is The Sound of Silence

“True silence is the rest of the mind; it is to the spirit what sleep is to the body, nourishment and refreshment.” (William Penn)

“Let us be silent, that we may hear the whispers of the gods.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

massimorocco

When you are a parent of young kids it is rare to have moments of silence during the day. 

When I am seen around town I usually have my boys attached to me one way or the other.  I love my kids in their entirety, noise and all, but sometimes there is nothing like the sound of silence.

Silence is a rejuvenator that can be compared to a tall glass of water when you are really thirsty, or a soothing massage at a spa.  What is amazing about the sounds of silence is that it is a free pick me up.

Every Thursday for about 2 hours I drop of my kids at their Nonna (Grandmother in Italian).  I use to go to a local coffee shop to unwind, but lately I have been going directly to the library.

My routine is finding a secluded corner and I listen to nothing and relax.

Silence is such a joy, release and destresser.  I suggest giving it a try if you can because it surely will make you happy and boost your spirits like it does mine!

I hope you have a wonderful day and a moment of silence to relax and reflect!

Leave a Reply

