My Home Crush Was Short-Lived

A crush is defined as an affection that is short-lived. 

Yesterday I mentioned how I had a crush on an old home that we are interested in buying.  After two home inspection visits it looks like the home needs a lot of essential work, like structural and mold issues.  Needed work equals to money that has to be spent.  For a 2 bedroom, 1 bath home there is a limit to how much you want to spend.

I have to admit it, my crush on the old house was literally crushed by reality.  I do not want to move into a home that needs so much work that it does not make financial sense.  I am also having doubts about how we can move from a 4 bedroom, 2 bath home to a much smaller living space.  My rose tinted glasses have cleared…

Now that my current house is fixed and ready for our open house today, I am not sure I want to sell it.  The main reason why we put it on the market was because of the “crush” that I had on the 2 bedroom home.  Now that my crush is over I think we may just keep our current house if no offer wows us. 

On January 11, 2012 we put our house up for sale and we completely spruced up and upgraded our home.  It is like living in a new house.  It is the vision we had for the home when we bought it 4 years ago.

toilet

Michael’s new thrown.  A Kohler toilet he installed by himself.

Maybe, this is the house we are meant to be in for right now.  Only time will tell.

I will keep you posted….

Have a great day!

7 responses to “My Home Crush Was Short-Lived

  1. Aww…sorry:( I love your current house!! Good luck today!

  2. Becky, I am pretty relieved that we found out the home’s issues before all details were finalized. We are still under negotiations so this story still has not ended….

  3. Ill keep my fingers crossed then! Miss you!

  4. That’s a toughie! I’ve always hated the habit we all have of fixing our houses up to sell them… so other people can enjoy the renovations!

    • Hi! I know. Right now we are happy if we stay put or if we move. We may just decide to keep this place and rent it out because our mortgage is so low since we refinanced. Only time will tell!

  5. We let the house go. Michael is signing the paperwork today. It was too much work.

Leave a Reply

