Fasting: Giving Up Bread for Lent

If you are Catholic the season for Lent is very important.  It starts on Ash Wednesday (February 22, 2012) and ends on Holy Saturday (April 7, 2012).

Why do Catholics give up something for lent? Some do it for religious reasons and other because that is how they were taught as kids and it is tradition.

Lent is the time to remember Jesus Christ and reflect on his sufferings and the life he gave up for us. 

To commemorate Jesus’ journey Catholics typically give up something they love.   This is called fasting.

When I was in my early 20s I gave up smoking cigarettes and to this day I have not touched one.

For Lent this year I have decided to give up bread.  This will be very hard for me because I am a big bread eater.  Weekly we make homemade pizza and we stock ours pantry with bagels and Italian bread.

My kids are too young to fast.  When the time comes that they want to partake in our Lenten traditions, then they can join us.  Right now they can just be kids and repeatedly ask me why I am not eating bread or pizza.

Today, is the day before Lent.  I am enjoying the last taste of bread before giving it up for  a few months.  My reasons for fasting is both a traditional and religious one, and it is part of who I am.

“Lent is not a deprivation, but rather a reminder of what you have been blessed with. By depriving self of your blessings, you remember them with more appreciation” (Mom H.)

Have a great day!

3 responses to “Fasting: Giving Up Bread for Lent

  1. I was going to give up wine, but my husband said I couldn’t. ;D

  2. Pingback: Surrendering on Good Friday | ichoosehappynow.com

Leave a Reply

