Summer Vacation Plans: Traveling to Italy with Kids

Earlier this month news bureaus reported how a father and his 3-year-old son were kicked off an Alaskan Airlines flight because the child allegedly would not stay buckled in his seat.   After reading multiple reports, I have to agree with the father that the airlines overreacted.  The child eventually got buckled in yet Airline representatives still felt that the child was lying down a little too much rather than sitting upright.

Photo by Mark Yanchuk

Since that airline incident I have been thinking of our Italian vacation plans this summer.  The count down has now officially begun since we are leaving one month from now.  We have not yet packed, but I am trying to figure out how to fly with an energetic and very loud toddler (aka Rocco, age 2.5 years old).

shave5

I have toys, books, lollipops for bribes, I-pad, I-phone, activity books in my arsenal of distraction.  Benadryl does not make my kids sleep, it makes them hyper cranky so I am leaving that at home.

My secret weapon, which I hope will keep a feisty toddler from being able to run around the plane, is a Ride Safer travel vest made by Safe Traffic System Inc.   The vest has multiple belts that are supposed to keep the child safe and still.  What’s amazing is that I can use it as a car seat too!  If this vest works the way the testimonials say it will, then I will be one happy traveller. (My vest is still in the mail so I have yet to give a proper product review.)

Safe Traffic Systems in Pink

I mentioned last year how a friend who travels often with her kids gave me the best advice.  She said if you get dirty and uncompassionate looks because your children act up, just tell yourself that you will never see the other passengers or people again, so why worry?

Of course, this is keeping in mind that you, as a parent, have done all things possible to keep your child calm, happy, quiet and satiated.  Still, I have adapted her flying mantra of, “I will never see these people again…”, just in case.

airplane

Bon voyage!  I hope you all have a wonderful vacation this summer!

8 responses to “Summer Vacation Plans: Traveling to Italy with Kids

  1. All three of my kids are seasoned travelers. All three flew outside the continental US before their first birthday, and many times before they learned to “sit still.” You bought a ticket for your son, and he will be a paying passenger, just like everyone else on the plane. So relax, do your best to keep him content, and have a great trip!

  2. All three of my kids are seasoned travelers. All three flew outside the continental US before their first birthday, and many times before they learned to “sit still.” You bought a ticket for your son, and he will be a paying passenger, just like everyone else on the plane. So relax, do your best to keep him content, and have a great trip!

    • Hi! I have flown a couple times with my older child. The furthest flight was over 19 hours away, but we did fine and had a great time.

      My younger one is just a little loud and energetic.

      Thanks for the adivce about just enjoying myself and relaxing.

      Cheers,
      Louise

  3. Sounds like it’s going to be an adventure! Have a great time!

  4. island traveler

    Sound like an exciting vacation plan. Italy is a fun and beauty place to visit. I bet you and your family will have an amazing time . Have a great Summer!

Leave a Reply

