My Career Choice – Being a Stay At Home Mom

When Michael and I decide to spend the rest of our life together, we also spoke about having kids.  In our discussions we both agreed that we wanted an upbringing like ours, where the father was the primary bread-winner and the mother was the home maker.  I know it may sound a little bit old fashion, but it is the arrangement that works well with our family.

Many people who know me best were shocked when I chose the role as a stay at home Mom versus having a career in the working world.  In my past life I was quite the go getter who was very interested in climbing the corporate ladder.  Times have changed.

Michael grew up in Connecticut and I grew up in the Philippines.  The main difference between our upbringings is that in the Philippines many families still have the  luxury of a full-time live in nanny (yaya), even if the moms are homemakers.

I am the first woman in my immediate family who has been hands on in taking care of my kids.   My mom was always around, but she had a yaya to help take care of me.  My grandmother on my father’s side was a jeweler and my mom’s mother was a homemaker who had a yaya.   Having a nanny is not an unusual set up in the Philippines. 

 Although there are challenges in being a full-time stay at home mom, I really feel blessed that I am given this opportunity to see my kids grow up.  Everyday they wake up with such joy and enthusiasm for life and it is exciting to see them blossom as human beings!

The way I see it when the kids are 5 years old they will be in school all day so this time with them is really temporary and precious. 

Right now I try to see everyday with them as a vacation rather than a chore.  Where else can a person spend their days in a park, museum, beach to name a few?   What other time of my life can I have days filled with play dates, art work and creativity?  When will I have the chance to see them on a daily basis and see how they blossom into their own characters and become bonafide human beings who can stand on their own two feet?

The role of the stay at home mom is a happy one and I have no regrets choosing this as my “career path” for this part of my life.

7 responses to “My Career Choice – Being a Stay At Home Mom

  1. well, I think that was really a nice choice and I commend you for that not because its a tough job but because it is the toughest,I mean..Raising children nowadays is a bit rigorous.. Children are exposed now to so many factors that can affect their growth physically,mentally and morally thus its a good news that you preferred looking and guiding them for the hours they needed you the most.Of course in my part as a son I would want my mom to be behind me always,heeding all my needs and same also If I’ll be a husband someday I would want my wife to be at home so there’ll be someone who can erase all my tiredness and someone who can cook for me..Don’t look at it as a chore rather do it by passion..nice post…=)

  2. Pingback: could it be worse? « BelieveHopeLoveInspire

  3. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award Goes to… | ichoosehappynow.com

  4. Pingback: Ice Cream is the Best Breakfast in the Morning | ichoosehappynow.com

  5. Pingback: Working Hard and Hardly Working in the Caribbean | ichoosehappynow.com

    • Angeline, I love memories. They are like comfortable pillows. When I was single and working hard I didn’t realize how much I would be using my skills today!

      Hope you have a wonderful day.

      Cheers,
      Louise

Leave a comment