Daily Archives: October 5, 2011

Date Night and Wine Suggestions from the Wife of a Wine Guy – Argiano Brunello di Montalcino 2006

Monday is typically Michael’s day off from Skappo, the Italian wine bar and restaurant that he owns.  The kid … http://p.ost.im/p/ejvXS2

Date Night and Wine Suggestions from the Wife of a Wine Guy – Argiano Brunello di Montalcino 2006

Monday is typically Michael’s day off from Skappo, the Italian wine bar and restaurant that he owns.  The kids and the restaurant are full time responsibilities so the times we have together alone are cherished since they are quite rare.

The rare date night pictures that Michael and I have together.

During our quiet moments, after we put the kids to bed, we typically try a wine that Michael is considering to put on the wine list of the restaurant or we have a left over bottle from Skappo’s “wine by the glass” that has not been consumed fully.

Today I was so excited because Michael brought home a special wine from Argiano – Brunello di Montalcino 2006.

Since this is a rich red wine with a very deep and robust flavor we took our “special” glasses out so the aroma and bold flavors would really come out.

I am not a wine expert like Michael.  Before meeting him I was only able to say what I didn’t like (if it was vinegary!).  Slowly I am learning and during our private “wine tastings” I play act like a kid and pretend to be a wine connoisseur.  The problem is I like most, if not all wines, so I am not much of a critic!

On a weekly basis I would like to feature and write about the wines that Michael has brought home.  I want to bring you behind the scenes of the wine tasting sessions with the “wife of a wine guy”.

The Argiano – Brunello di Montalcino 2006 has hints of cherries, coffee and cinnamon.  It has a rich and luscious flavor.  The smell is so yummy and you  can subtly smell strawberries and allspice.  The color is a deep dark ruby red.  It is great to drink alone or to have with a meal.  It went well with the homemade pizza that we made for dinner.

A date night that consists of simple silence over a glass of wine make us happy.

I really wish I had a way to let you share this glass with me right now.  It is a truly delicious wine that I highly recommend.