Daily Archives: October 18, 2011

Happy Birthday Dad (Macky Lopez)! You Would Have Been 67 if You Weren’t in Heaven

Today is my father’s birthday.  In 2008, a few months before his 64 … http://p.ost.im/p/eM749U

Happy Birthday Dad (Macky Lopez)! You Would Have Been 67 if You Weren’t in Heaven

 Today is my father’s birthday.  In 2008, a few months before his 64th birthday, he died of a rare form of cancer.  We were very sad, but  we all knew, including my Dad, that it was his time to go.

Like most Filipinos he also believed that death is not final, it is just a change of address.

In his short life he accomplished so much.  I am not talking about the material things, but he learned a real life lesson about appreciating what you have and your family.

dadwedding dadangleadadmassimodadskappopeterdadmichael

He had six months from diagnosis to his timely death, but in those months he tried to seize every moment, including mending the broken marriage that he had with my Mom.

familypicturedad

Recently I started to listen to country music.  My husband Michael was joking around and said my sudden interest in this genre means I am growing older and reflecting upon my life.

I guess I am looking at my life more carefully because when one of your parents dies you realize your mortality.  You realize that life is too short to not appreciate each moment that passes.  This blog has also helped me see my life with “special eyes”.

Country music sensation, The Band Perry’s song “If I Die Young” is about appreciating your life, even if it is short.  It is about seizing the day.  In an interview the band said, “We really have gotten to live and love at our young ages. ‘If I Die Young,’ for us, is about if it all ends at this moment, look at what we’ve gotten to do. Whatever time we’re given will be absolutely enough as long as we make the most of it.”

Dad, Happy Birthday!  I toast to you with a glass of wine and I hope you are playing golf in heaven with a scotch on the rocks in toe.  Rest in peace.

mackyl04

massimodad

Macky Lopez 1944-2008

For related articles please visit my sister Angela’s post “Eat Good Food…Honour My Father.”