When It’s Your Birthday Eat Noodles for Long Life

Today is my birthday.  As I get older the celebration of my coming into the world is not a priority. 

me

We usually have festivities for the kid’s birthdays, but I prefer a quiet night with Michael and a bottle of wine.

Aside from the wine an important thing for me to have on my birthday is any kind of long noodle dish. 

Traditionally in the Philippines you should always have a long noodle dish  during a person’s birthday because it is suppose to be lucky and it signifies a long life for the celebrant.  No one really knows where this superstition originated from, but many Filipinos follow it.

When I was in the Philippines the dish had to be a stir fry noodle dish called pancit, but in Connecticut where good Filipino food is hard to come by, I improvise and I replace any long noodle dish like spaghetti or Chinese noodles.

If it is your birthday today or if you know someone who has a birthday, give the gift of noodles so the celebrant will have a long life.

Have a wonderful day!

4 responses to “When It’s Your Birthday Eat Noodles for Long Life

  1. The pancit in the photo looks yummy! Happy birthday, Louise!! Wishing you a wonderful wonderful year ahead!!

  2. Happy Birthday! What a great way to celebrate! Pancit and wine….yum!
    That’s a great picture of you at the top.
    Have a great day!

    • Hi Angeline! That was during my honeymoon many years ago…thanks for the compliment.

      The birthday has been good, but we were in the hospital most of the time because my husband’s grandfather is dying. He seems peaceful and ready. I think after he signed the DNR a few days ago it made death more of a reality. I feel he is at peace with it.

      Hope you have a wonderful day!

      cheers,
      Louise

Leave a comment