Daily Archives: January 19, 2012

A Visit to the PEZ Candy Museum in Orange,Connecticut

In past blog posts I mentioned that both Michael and I got the travel bug at a young age. Michael would travel … http://p.ost.im/p/em4yw4

A Visit to the PEZ Candy Museum in Orange,Connecticut

In past blog posts I mentioned that both Michael and I got the travel bug at a young age. Michael would travel through Europe as a young boy and my parents encouraged exploring the world.

We have tried to pass on our love for traveling to our boys by exposure. Both kids got their passports before they could sit up and roll over. Aside from going overseas we have really tried to make our kids appreciate their local surroundings.

We are firm believers that if you can’t love and enjoy where you are living right now, how can you truly appreciate life and visiting abroad? We often find ourselves “playing tourist in our own backyard” and I mention it frequently in other posts.

When you think of visiting Connecticut you imagine small, quaint New England towns or a preppy scene.

Connecticut has so much more fun and quirky tourist attractions that many visitors and even locals have never heard about.

Today’s adventure brought us to Orange, Connecticut where we visited the Pez museum. 

pez9

My kids are big candy fans and Michael and I love great graphic art.  The Pez Visitor’s center is a perfect blend of both edible candy and eye candy.  Visiting the museum was like stepping into Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory where you get to see all things Pez.

pez8 There were games, trivia, generational displays and more.  During your visit you are encouraged to try their sample wall and eat as much of the candy delights. 

pezpez2pez3pez5pez6pez7

My kids especially enjoyed watching the Pez workers package and create the Pez masterpieces.

pez4

After eating all the Pez they wanted the kids were able to make their own Pez commercial.  Click on the link to watch my talented kids….

http://www.yourpezvideo.com/video/display/view_key/11441838553

You can see from the video that they enjoyed themselves so much and were really “Pez-ed up”…

If you are in New Haven County I would I highly suggest visiting the Pez Museum.

Have a great day!