Wine Suggestions from the Wife of a Wine Guy–Strawberry Serenade, Philip Jamison Jones Winery

mommy

I am the “Wife of a Wine Guy”. My husband Michael and his family have an Italian wine bar and restaurant named Skappo.

A lot of wine goes through our household because we typically try a wine that Michael is considering to put on the wine list of the restaurant or we have a left over bottle from Skappo’s “wine by the glass” that has not been consumed fully.

I mentioned in a past post that on a weekly basis I would like to feature and write about the wines that Michael has brought home. I want to bring you behind the scenes of the wine tasting sessions with the “wife of a wine guy”.

I am not a wine expert like Michael. Before meeting him I was only able to say what I didn’t like (if it was vinegary!). Slowly I am learning and during our private “wine tastings” I play act like a kid and pretend to be a wine connoisseur. The problem is I like most, if not all wines, so I am not much of a critic!

What I know for sure is that we love wine in our house and it makes us happy!

Recently we took a family trip to Jones Winery. I fell in love with many of the wines, but we had to control ourselves and only selected a few for this visit.

Wine: Strawberry Serenade, Philip Jamison Jones Winery (nick named Jones Winery)

joneswinery

Color: Reddish pink

Taste: Sweet and crisp. This is a bubbly carbonated wine. It tastes and smells like freshly picked strawberries. There was no artificial taste, but a real farm fresh flavor.

Smell: Strawberries

Average price: $17.95

Comments: This wine is a great stand alone wine or it is awesome with food. We just came from a Jewish Deli and I had it with a liverwurst and pastrami sandwich with Russian dressing on rye bread…it was delicious (In a future post I’ll tell you where to find the best Jewish Deli food in New Haven County).

katzdeli

I am not typically a fruit wine person at all, but I will make an exception to Strawberry Serenade. If I could drink it with a straw and bath in it I would. I loved it that much. I want to get a couple more bottles to keep in our house.I really wish I had a way to let you share this glass (actually bottle) with me right now. It is a truly delicious wine that I highly recommend.

Leave a comment